30 hour famine

This past weekend, my church participated in World Vision’s 30 Hour Famine. While fasting for 30 hours, young people all over the world participate in community outreach events and raise money for people whose reality is starving every day. Due to the global food crisis, a child dies from hunger every 13 seconds.
Okay, I know what you’re thinking… How in the world does a type 1 fast for 30 hours? I planned on participating, but 3 hours into it, I was super shaky and dizzy with a low of 46. Needless to say, I had to change my plans. I went home to eat dinner that night and breakfast in the morning. I did fast from lunch, but I had to drink juice 3 times after all the walking we did.
Once again, diabetes stopped me from doing what I had planned on. Once I got past the hungry glares when a few jelly beans (my go to low snack) slipped out of my purse, I started to think about what kids in other countries with type 1 do. Diabetes doesn’t just affect people who have enough money for food and medical supplies. After much research, I was glad to read of different organizations who have made it their mission to provide education and supplies to developing countries.
This realization has made me even more antsy for a cure (as if that was possible.) While I will continue to do everything I can to support research for a cure, I look forward to learning more about other diabetics world wide.

Leave a Reply

